What Does It Mean To Be A Disciple… A True Disciple

English: A view of the cloister garden and sta...

Speaker : Vern Jensen  (For Meeting Notes Click Here)

Simple Truth: A “disciple” is a learner—who follows a Master teacher.

John 8:31-32 ( NLT )  Jesus said to the people who believed in him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings.  And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Here is the Truth about a disciple:

A Disciple has Identity – To know that identity is to follow the story of Jesus

  1. Sonship– Begin where Jesus gets baptized (Luke 3:21-22) …And a voice from heaven said, “You are my dearly loved Son, and you bring me great joy”.  The take away is that you don’t become a son through works, you are adopted into the family because the Father has chosen you. We are adopted, not though our works, but through Christ Jesus.  Your identity is not in your job, title, position- it comes from what God has done for us. Ephesians 1:5 “I have been adopted as God’s child”
  2. Temptation–  (Luke 4:1-3) Then the devil said to him, “If you are the Son…”. Satan challenges His identity through temptation. Satan tries to get us to believe that we are not adopted into God’s family.
    You must believe that we are holy, blameless and without fault in the eyes of God because we are clothed in Christ’s righteousness. “Get behind me, Satan”

A Disciple has Power – Power through the Holy Spirit

  1. Be filled with the Spirit  Through the Holy Spirit we have power. The Bible tells us not to go on mission without being filled with the Holy Spirit.
    (Luke 4:14)  Then Jesus returned to Galilee,” filled with the Holy Spirit’s power.”. 
    (Luke 4:40-41) No matter what their diseases were, the touch of his hand healed every one.  Many were possessed by demons; and the demons came out at his command, shouting, “You are the Son of God!” But because they knew he was the Messiah, he rebuked them and refused to let them speak.
    (Acts 1: 4,8) Once when he was eating with them, he commanded them, “Do not leave Jerusalem until the Father sends you the gift he promised, as I told you before. . . .But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. 

A Disciple has a Mission – A disciple does what His Master does

  1. The challenge is very simple:  A “disciple” does what his master does.
    (Luke 4:18-19 )   “The Spirit of the LORD is upon me, for he has anointed me to bring Good News to the poor.  He has sent me to proclaim that captives will be released, that the blind will see, that the oppressed will be set free, and that the time of the LORD’s favor has come.”  
    To make our mission clearer, Jesus says (John 14:12-14) “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.  You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!

Observations

We can only really do what Jesus did through the power of the Holy Spirit.  We cannot do it on our own.  Our mission is NOT a “man-up” and just DO IT!  Jesus warned against that. (John 15:5) “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing

Therefore:  To be a “disciple” means that we will not only DO what Jesus did (preaching Good News healing, casting our spirits, releasing captives, etc.) but help make other “disciples” who will do the same.

As men, through the Identity, Power, and Mission of a disciple of Jesus, we need to be Spiritual Warriors for our family!


Leave a comment